Area 11 release new song ‘Watchmaker’ and announce new album ‘Modern Synthesis’!

AREA 11, a four-piece alt-rock band from Bristol, are ecstatic to announce the release of their forthcoming LP, ‘Modern Synthesis‘, set for release on July 1st via Cooking Vinyl.

The band have conquered many feats as an unsigned act, that most bands don’t get to experience or achieve at such an early stage in their career. In the past 12 months, the band have amassed an astonishing social media following – that puts a lot of established bands to shame, with over 100K global subscribers and 10 million plays on their YouTube channel. This has led to two self-booked & sold out UK Headline tours – with their July 2015 show at London’s ‘The Barfly’, selling out in under 48hours! Their most recent UK tour, last Winter saw the band step up their audience to to 500 capacity venues, selling out their merchandise and music.

This leads us to 2016, where the band signed to Cooking Vinyl, and are thrilled to be releasing their 11-track, full-length ‘Modern Synthesis’ this July. Pre-order now and receive Versus and Watchmaker as instant downloads!

Sparkles*, the vocalist and synth player in the band, explained about how the record came to be;
“We started work on this album way back in February 2015, in a little village in Italy, and it’s been a long, thrilling, difficult and rewarding process. We’re releasing this record through a partnership with Cooking Vinyl and our own label Smihilism Records.
It’s been a new experience for us working with a label, but they’re home to a bunch of really great and influential artists and I can’t stress enough how great it’s been so far. They don’t try to influence us artistically, more support and help us maximise the potential the record has. 
We’re all really proud of Modern Synthesis, and we can’t wait to take it out on tour in July and finally perform the album live in front of people.

The band released ‘Versus‘, taken from Modern Synthesis in November ’15, which has an incredible 138,000+ views already, and are now unveiling their next track and lyric video for ‘Watchmaker’, which you can watch above!

“We’re really excited to finally be putting new music out and we knew Watchmaker was an obvious choice; it really does sum up what the album’s about, but also leaves a lot of surprises”; continued Sparkles*.



area 11

1. Override
2. The Contract
3. Watchmaker
4. Versus
5. Processor
6. Red Queen
7. Angel Lust
8. The Life Of A Ghost
9. After The Flags
10. Nebula
11. Panacea And The Prelogue

Area 11 are also excited to announce their next UK headline tour in support of the album release this summer, following an intimate album release show at London’s, The Borderline. Tickets and further information is all available at

area 11

Danny Peart
Editor / Live Music Photographer / Journalist at Soundcheck-Live

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here