Area 11 release new video for ‘The Contract’!

AREA 11, a four-piece alt-rock band from Bristol, have just released their brand new LP, ‘Modern Synthesis‘, on July 1st via Cooking Vinyl. The album currently sits at #13 in the UK Official Album Chart at the midweek stage.

To coincide with the release, AREA 11 are thrilled to reveal their brand new video for ‘The Contract‘, taken from ‘Modern Synthesis’.

“The Contract is a song about compromise, and what happens when you compromise too much. In relationships, in society, in a band, we all have to make decisions for the good of the group rather than for ourselves, but at what point does that start to erase your sense of self, and self respect? Musically it’s a compromise between dark, aggressive lyrics and bright, optimistic instrumentation.

The music video was designed to reflect this contrast; moody and bleak locations filled with pure and warm light. Filmed on a rainy day in Cardiff, the video was a lot of fun to make and was our first video shoot with a proper crew (and craft services!). Director Roger Sargent really understood what the song was about, and we think that’s reflected in the synergy between the music and the video. And obviously the best bit was that we got to play with fire!” 
The band have conquered many feats as an unsigned act that most bands don’t get to experience or achieve at such an early stage in their career. Currently sat at Number 13 in the Official UK Album Chart, and having just played their sold out Album release show on July 4th at London’s The Borderline, it’s been a pretty incredible start to their Modern Synthesis release.

In the past 12 months, the band have amassed an astonishing social media following – that puts a lot of established bands to shame, with over 100K global subscribers and 10 million plays on their YouTube channel. This has led to two self-booked & sold out UK Headline tours – with their July 2015 show at London’s ‘The Barfly’, selling out in under 48hours! Their most recent UK tour, last Winter saw the band step up their audience to to 500 capacity venues, selling out their merchandise and music.

The band released ‘Versus‘, taken from Modern Synthesis in November ’15, which has an incredible 138,000+ views already, and are now unveiling their next track and lyric video for ‘Watchmaker’.

area 11
1. Override
2. The Contract
3. Watchmaker
4. Versus
5. Processor
6. Red Queen
7. Angel Lust
8. The Life Of A Ghost
9. After The Flags
10. Nebula
11. Panacea And The Prelogue

Area 11 are also kicking off their UK headline tour in support of Modern Synthesis, following an intimate sold out album release show at London’s, The Borderline on Monday. Tickets and further information is all available at

area 11

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here