Columbus announce new EP ‘Next To Me’


Brisbane’s happiest punks Columbus have announced they will release their new EP Next to Me on April 28 via UNFD. The five-track EP features a brand new single “Next To Me” as well as a selection of Columbus’ catalogue reimagined acoustically.

Frontman Alex Moses says “Next To Me” is about a relationship growing apart., “Next To Me is a melancholic falling out, which reminiscences about moments with a past lover. I wrote the song about the feeling of knowing you’re drifting apart from someone, and there’s nothing you can do.”

Columbus headed back into the studio at the tail end of February to create Next To Me and, instead of locking themselves away from the world, the band live streamed the entire recording process via Facebook and Instagram. With the intention of giving their fans an insight into the day to day of how Columbus makes music, the live stream provided a great platform for the band to discuss and answer questions about the process with their fans, ultimately involving them in the creation of the EP.

Alongside the single “Next To Me”, Columbus took four of their favourite bangers and reshaped them into melancholy stripped back versions to showcase them in another light. Moses says, “It was a very creatively fulfilling process, focusing on acoustic instruments and softer sounds. We’re really proud of the songs and think they stand on their own in contrast to the heavier versions.”

Columbus Next To Me is out April 28 via UNFD.

1. Next To Me
2. Say What You Want (Acoustic)
3. Daffodil (Acoustic)
4. Downsides Of Being Honest (Acoustic)
5. Raindrop (Acoustic)

Danny Peart
Editor / Live Music Photographer / Journalist at Soundcheck-Live

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here