Counterparts release new song ‘Separate Wounds’

Metalcore band Counterparts have released new song ‘Separate Wounds.’ The song, which originally premiered on, is taken off the bands recently announced 6th full-length album, Nothing Left To Love due out 1st November on Pure Noise Records.

Listen to Separate Wounds here:

Separate Wounds is the second single from the band’s forthcoming record, Nothing Left To Love. The album muses on many of the topics vocalist Brendan Murphy has in the past: life’s darkness, self-destructive tendencies and the self-flagellation they beget. 

“I know I’ve said this for every record we’ve ever released…” shares Murphy. “But ‘Nothing Left to Love’ is best Counterparts record…If you fuck with the band you’ll probably love it, and if you don’t then maybe we’ve finally honed our craft enough for you to give a shit.” 

Produced by Will Putney (Every Time I Die, The Acacia Strain), Nothing Left To Love shows the band moving their uniquely captivating sound forward without losing the musical DNA that broke them back in the early 2010s. It’s a musical tour through the band’s history, as more melodic elements sharply swerve into caustic breakdowns reminiscent of their debut album, 2010’s Prophets.

This time around, the singer is writing not just about the end result but also the because, willing to shoulder some of the blame more than he ever has in the past. It’s easy to point the finger at others for the harm they’ve caused us; it’s far harder to accept that the root might lie at the opposite end of that hand.

“My perspective [on what happened in my life] has changed so much, even in just a few years,” Murphy says. “It’s a terrible spot to be in, but some of my best material creatively came from me just being willing to admit things out loud”

Nothing Left To Love Track Listing
1. Love Me
2. Wings of Nightmares
3. Paradise and Plague
4. The Hands That Used To Hold Me
5. Separate Wounds
6. Your Own Knife
7. Cherished
8. Imprints
9. Ocean of Another
10. Nothing Left To Love

Nothing Left To Love is the follow up to the band’s highly praised 2017 release You’re Not You
Anymore. The album landed in the Billboard Top 200 and saw praise from outlets
including Alternative Press , Rock Sound , New Noise Magazine , Exclaim! , The Alternative, Loudwire and more.

Danny Peart
Editor / Live Music Photographer / Journalist at Soundcheck-Live

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here