Download Festival announce Headliners and first set of acts for 2017!

The first artists for Download Festival 2017 have landed. With epic headliners System of a Down, Biffy Clyro, and Aerosmith just announced!


The first time was impressive. The second, legendary. Hold on to your hats, because System of a Down are returning to Download for the third time. The masterminds behind some of our favourite metal tracks, including ‘Toxicity’, ‘Chop Suey’, ‘B.Y.O.B’ and ‘Aerials’ will headline the Friday with their unique blend of hardcore and metal.

Making their headline debut this year, the unstoppable rock force that is Biffy Clyro. Hot off the back of their second Number 1 album ‘Elipsis’, the band are experiencing stratospheric success built on a foundation of huge hits such as ‘Wolves of Winter’, ‘Bubbles’, ‘Mountains’ and many more. Their full-throttle stadium-sized show is set to send waves through the Saturday of Download.

Welcome back, Aerosmith. One of our favourite classic rock powerhouses will make their return to the Main Stage on Sunday. It will be their only UK appearance of 2017 so you know it’s going to be spectacular. Set to close the festival with style and panache as the Demon of Screamin’ Steven Tyler and founding member, Joe Perry rip through hits like ‘Dude (Looks Like A Lady)’, ‘Walk This Way’, ‘Don’t Want To Miss A Thing’ and more.


Californian thrash giants Slayer are up next with their genre defining riffs, pounding drums and face melting solos. We’re also pumped to announce a whole host of other artists, including horror rock legend Rob Zombie, newly formed Prophets of Rage and alt rock / punk legends AFI.


It doesn’t stop there, Five Finger Death Punch will tear Download apart with their fifth appearance at Donington. Of Mice & Men will make their Download debut alongside Fozzy whose frontman WWE Superstar Chris Jericho will bring punching riffs and huge choruses to the hallowed grounds.

Southern rockers Every Time I Die are making their third appearance, bringing their architypal ferociousness. Get ready to go wild to Floridian five-piece Sleeping With Sirens and their infectious anthems, with horror-metal favourites Motionless In White also just announced. We’re welcoming pop punk veterans Simple Plan back to the stage for their upbeat hits, alongside Download newcomers The Story So Far.

Exhausted with excitement? Join. The. Club. And this is just the first announcement, #DL2017 is gearing up to be one of the best yet, don’t miss out – tickets available now, here.


Danny Peart
Editor / Live Music Photographer / Journalist at Soundcheck-Live

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here