The Horrors announce UK tour and release video for new track ‘Machines’

The Horrors reveal a visually stunning, computer generated abstract video for their critically acclaimed new single ‘Machine’. Featuring layers of simulations of micro-organisms, the video is the work of CGI pioneer Jon Emmony who is known for his beautiful, grotesque and intriguing simulation videos.

On making the video, Jon said “The video for ‘Machine’ is based around the concept of computer simulation. The creatures, formed from sections cut and twisted from insects, crustaceans and bone are arranged in sculptural compositions inspired by artists such as Hieronymus Bosch; finding the surreal within mixed forms and scales. If left, taken away from an edit, the creatures would continue to exist and their movements would evolve.  For me this was an exciting way to create digital imagery, as having an element of control removed and then decided by a computer seemed fitting with the track. Machines inside machines.”

The album’s first single ‘Machine’ sees the group at their majestic, imperial best. The ten-track album explores such depth and diversity that when the final song and future single ‘Something To Remember Me By’ appears to channel dance, trance and progressive pop genres, it feels like both the most natural thing in the musical world and also the most surprising. ‘V’ shows the group at the peak of their powers, exhibiting a freedom and sense of exploration that feels truly liberating.

It is a risk,” says Faris Badwan discussing the band’s bold refusal to stand still. “But life isn’t much fun without risk. It’s the antithesis of being creative if you know what you’re going to be doing every time.”

The album artwork comes from talented VFX artist and director Erik Ferguson, who is known for his abstract and intriguing creative vision.

‘V’ was recorded in London with producer Paul Epworth, who has worked with FKA Twigs, Lorde, Rihanna, Adele, London Grammar, Florence and the Machine, Coldplay, U2 and Paul McCartney, amongst many others.

The album comprises:

1. Hologram
2. Press Enter to Exit
3. Machine
4. Ghost
5. Point of No Reply

6. Weighed Down
7. Gathering
8. World Below
9. It’s A Good Life
10. Something to Remember Me By 

Full UK tour dates below:

October 16    Mandela Hall, Belfast
October 17    Tivoli, Dublin
October 19    Qmu, Glasgow
October 20    Newcastle University, Newcastle
October 21    Leeds University, Leeds
October 22    Academy 1, Liverpool
October 24    Institute, Birmingham
October 25    Bierkeller, Bristol
October 26    The Junction, Cambridge
October 28    Acca, Brighton
October 29    KOKO, London

Danny Peart
Editor / Live Music Photographer / Journalist at Soundcheck-Live

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here