The Magic Gang set to embark on UK tour

With youthful exuberance and a catalogue of life-affirming slacker pop anthems, it’s no wonder that The Magic Gang are at the forefront of 2018’s breaking guitar bands. Recently nominated for Best New Artist at the NME Awards, The Magic Gang will release their self-titled debut album on March 16th on Yala! Records.

The announcement comes after the band’s new single ‘Getting Along’ was premiered last night as Annie Mac’s Hottest Record. Juxtaposing joyful melodies with lovelorn lyrics, the track’s relentlessly infectious hook adds another contemporary-yet-classic anthem to The Magic Gang’s burgeoning songbook.

Collectively the album presents a twelve-track snapshot of everything that The Magic Gang are about. The buoyant bangers that have been mainstays of their raucous live shows are represented by the likes of ‘Jasmine’, ‘All This Way’ and ‘All That I Want Is You’. The latter song was inspired by tales from Brian Wilson’s controversial autobiography ‘Wouldn’t It Be Nice’, especially in regards to his reclusive years following the peak of The Beach Boys’ success.

The album also includes the recent singles ‘Alright’, ‘Your Love’ and ‘How Can I Compete’ alongside moodier, piano-orientated, harmony-rich material such as ‘Take Care’ and bittersweet, singer-songwriter vibes on ‘I’ll Show You’.

The majority of the album was produced by Jolyon Thomas (Royal Blood, Slaves), while James Dring (Loyle Carner, Jamie T) and former Maccabees guitarist Hugo White both produced a track each. Every song was written by the band – Paeris Giles (drums), Jack Kaye (guitar/vocals), Kris Smith (vocals/guitar) and Angus Taylor (bass).

The album will be releasing on formats including CD, vinyl and a digital Deluxe Edition that adds four bonus tracks. Pre-orders are now available from ADD LINK, with ‘Getting Along’, ‘Your Love’ and ‘How Can I Compete’ all provided as instant downloads.

The album tracklisting is:

1. ‘Oh Saki’
2. ‘All This Way’
3. ‘Getting Along’
4. ‘Alright’
5. ‘Caroline’
6. ‘Jasmine’
7. ‘Take Care’
8. ‘Slippin’
9. ‘Your Love’
10. ‘How Can I Compete’
11. ‘I’ll Show You’
12. ‘All That I Want Is You’

Deluxe Edition – bonus tracks

13. ‘Fade Away’
14. ‘Getting Along’ (acoustic)
15. ‘All That I Want Is You’ (acoustic)
16. ‘Bruises’

After touring with Wolf Alice and Sundara Karma, the band’s forthcoming headline tour runs as below:


22nd – Birmingham, O2 Institute 2 (SOLD OUT)
23rd – Manchester, Academy 2 (SOLD OUT)
24th – Leeds, The Church (SOLD OUT)
25th – Glasgow, King Tuts (SOLD OUT)
27th – Bristol, Thekla (SOLD OUT)
28th – London, Electric Ballroom

Any remaining tickets for London are available from Support comes from Our Girl and Boy Azooga. In addition, The Magic Gang have announced their first festival of the year with the news that they’ll play Live At Leeds on May 5th.

Danny Peart
Editor / Live Music Photographer / Journalist at Soundcheck-Live

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here