Mallory Knox release video for new single ‘Better Off Without You’!

Today Mallory Knox return with ‘Better Off Without You’, the second single to be lifted from their
forthcoming third album ‘Wired’ , released March 10th on RCA. 

Written about the prescription drug Citalopram, used to treat anxiety and depression, ‘Better Off Without You’ was borne out of bassist Sam Douglas’ frustration towards a doctor who took a particularly lax approach to his treatment. ‘For something so personal it all felt very impersonal’ recalls Sam of the experience that provoked one of the band’s most pertinent, thought-provoking tracks to date. Drawing on their characteristically thunderous style, ‘Better Off Without You’ leaves no doubt in the listener’s mind that Mallory Knox are back in full force with something important to say.

Defined by psychological conflict, ‘Wired’ documents a journey of self-discovery for the band. ‘Sometimes the biggest part i s the realisation that you are fucked up,’ Mikey says, ‘and you do need to sort yourself out if you’re ever going to find a pathway to happiness, that leads you away from the vices that deafen you daily.’ The future of the band, though, seems impossibly bright.

‘Better Off Without You’ follows album opener and lead single ‘Giving It Up’, which was praised by BBC Radio 1’s MistaJam for its ‘completely undeniable’ energy and spent five weeks on their playlist. The Cambridge five-piece have previously released three Radio 1 A-Listed singles, sold out London’s 3,700-capacity Roundhouse, played the main stages at Reading & Leeds and Download and reached #16 on the UK Album Chart with their last album ‘Asymmetry’. This year, the band will embark on an extensive UK headline tour, including two nights at London’s Koko , with further dates to be announced later in the year.

‘Wired’ will be released March 10th on RCA, including the following tracks:

  1. Giving It Up
  2. California
  3. Wired
  4. For You
  5. Midnight
  6. Better Off Without You
  7. Falling in Love
  8. Lucky Me
  9. Saviour
  10. Come Back Around
  11. Mother

Pre order ‘Wired’ here:
Official Store
Apple Music / iTunes Spotify
Google Play Amazon

Mallory Knox will play the following live dates in 2017.

20 Mar          Bristol, O2 Academy
21 Mar          Cardiff, Tramshed
22 Mar          Norwich, UEA
24 Mar          Birmingham, O2 Institute
25 Mar          Sheffield, Leadmill
26 Mar          Cambridge, Corn Exchange
28 Mar          Aberdeen, Garage
29 Mar          Edinburgh, Liquid Rooms
31 Mar          Newcastle, University SU
1 April           Liverpool, O2 Academy
2 April           Portsmouth, Pyramids
4 April           Oxford, O2 Academy
5 April          London, KOKO
6 April          London, KOKO


mallory knox

Danny Peart
Editor / Live Music Photographer / Journalist at Soundcheck-Live

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here