Motion City Soundtrack set to release their sixth studio album ‘Panic Stations’

Motion City Soundtrack are set to release their sixth studio album, Panic Stations on September 18th via Epitaph.

The band premiered first single “Lose Control” via 89.3 The Current in their hometown Minneapolis.
You can listen to “Lose Control” above!

Whilst on tour in the summer of 2013, Justin Pierre (vocals), Josh Cain (guitar), Jesse Johnson (keyboard), Matt Taylor (bass), Claudio Rivera (drums) began to write new material, initially for fun until eventually they found themselves with a collection of new songs. There was no preconceived vision or theme to the process, just the underlying goal to create music the band enjoyed playing together in one room. To help capture that energy, Panic Stations was recorded live in June of 2014 and was produced by John Agnello at Seedy Underbelly North (formerly known as Pachyderm Studios) in Cannon Falls, Minnesota. The band loved Agnello’s prior work in producing and/or mixing albums by Dinosaur Jr., Jawbox, Sonic Youth and recently Kurt Vile and The Hold Steady.

Panic Stations, was named after nautical structures that act as warning posts in the oceans. Many of the songs reference water and the ocean, and there is an overarching idea of letting go and not being immobilized by your own thoughts. Pierre drew on an array of literary influences with song lyrics inspired by Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close and A Million Little Pieces. The process of creating these new songs, which open a new chapter in the band’s storied career, was based on instinct and openness, a methodology that resulted in a buoyant, impassioned record. And the feeling of their renewed pleasure for the craft resonates through each note and lyric, leaving the listener as inspired as they sound.

Pre-orders for Panic Stations are available at City Soundtrack have plans to tour this autumn in support of the release, details to be announced soon.

motion city soundtrack

Panic Stations Track List:
1. Anything At All
2. TKO
3. I Can Feel You
4. Lose Control
5. Heavy Boots
6. It’s A Pleasure To Meet You
7. Over It Now
8. Broken Arrow
9. Gravity
10. The Samurai Code
11. Days Will Run Away

For more information on Motion City Soundtrack:

Danny Peart
Editor / Live Music Photographer / Journalist at Soundcheck-Live

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here