Muse release new track ‘Mercy’ from upcoming album ‘Drones’

MUSE will release “Mercy” the third track from their forthcoming album ‘Drones‘ tonight, May 18th as the song premieres on BBC Radio 1.  The previously released two songs “Dead Inside” and “Psycho” began the story of ‘Drones’, which is released on June 8.  On June 13 the band headline at Download, the UK’s biggest rock festival, their debut performance at the event and their sole UK performance of 2015.

Says lead singer Matt Bellamy, “The opening line of “Mercy” – ‘help me I’ve fallen on the inside’ – is a reference to the protagonist knowing and recognizing that they have lost something, they have lost themselves. This is where they realize they’re being overcome by the dark forces that were introduced in “Psycho”.”

“Mercy” appears on their forthcoming studio album, Drones, which will be released June 8th by Warner Bros. Records.  According to Bellamy the record “explores the journey of a human: from abandonment and loss of hope, to indoctrination by the system to be a human drone, to eventual defection from the oppressors.”

Drones - Muse
Drones Tracklisting:
1. Dead Inside
2. [Drill Sergeant]
3. Psycho
4. Mercy
5. Reapers
6. The Handler
7. [JFK]
8. Defector
9. Revolt
10. Aftermath
11. The Globalist
12. Drones

Drones is co-produced by Muse and Robert John “Mutt” Lange and contains 12 tracks. Those who pre-order the album via digital retailers or the band’s website will receive an instant download of “Mercy”. The song will be available for download and on streaming services beginning after its radio debut. 


Danny Peart
Editor / Live Music Photographer / Journalist at Soundcheck-Live

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here