Palace to release debut album ‘So Long Forever’!

PALACE will release their hugely anticipated debut album ‘So Long Forever’ on 4th November 2016 on Fiction Records. Lead single ‘Break The Silence’ received its first play from Radio 1’s Annie Mac, swiftly followed by Huw Stephens, 6Music’s Tom Ravenscroft and Radio X’s John Kennedy and Maz Tappuni. It impacts on 6th July.Palace’s first show of 2016 is at the ICA on 14th June and, just like their show at Scala last October, sold out at speed. The album artwork – as with all previous artwork – has been painted by Wilm Danby and the huge canvas will be on display at the show.

This summer Palace will be playing Bushtock, Glastonbury and Reading & Leeds Festivals, with more to be announced. In autumn, in addition to Brixton Electric on 23rd November, they are thrilled to announce a November UK tour. Details below.

In late 2014 Palace released their debut EP ‘Lost in the Night’, which garnered an overwhelming amount of critical and fan support, with the NME proclaiming, “the award for the fastest rise of 2014 goes to Palace.” 2015 saw them embark on two UK and European tours that book-ended the release of their second EP ‘Chase The Light’, which received continued support from Radio 1’s Huw Stephens and Annie Mac, 6Music’s Steve Lamacq and Radio X’s Georgie Rogers, Maz Tappuni, John Kennedy and Jo Good. They spent last summer in a whirlwind of festival performances including Live at Leeds, The Great Escape, Liverpool Sound City, Blissfields, Kendall Calling, Greenman and Bestival, to name just a few.

Last autumn they returned to The Arch – a creative nerve centre in deepest, darkest Tottenham packed with young artists, designers and musicians – to write ‘So Long Forever’.

Speaking about the album, the band says, “Our album is a great summary of where Palace are as a band. It’s a culmination of very early songs and new ones. We wanted an album that takes you on a journey through different emotions and ups and downs. It’s our distinctive blues sound mixed with atmosphere and epic reverb. One of the things the album deals with is loss and how we deal with those difficult situations. Whether we fall apart or it makes us stronger.”

‘So Long Forever’ has been produced by Adam Jaffery (Beach Baby, Dev Hynes, Francis Lung) and mixed by Cenzo Townshend (The Maccabees, Florence + the Machine, Wild Beasts).

Palace are Leo Wyndham (guitar, vocals), Rupert Turner (guitar), Will Dorey (bass) and Matt Hodges (drums).

1. Break The Silence
2. Bitter
3. Live Well
4. It’s Over
5. Fire In The Sky
6. Family
7. Have Faith
8. So Long Forever
9. Blackheath
10. Holy Smoke
11. Slaving On
Live Dates
14th June        London           ICA – SOLD OUT
18th June        London           Bushstock
25th June        Glastonbury   Glastonbury
27th Aug         Reading          Reading Festival
28th Aug         Leeds              Leeds Festival
21st Nov          Brighton         Patterns
22nd Nov         Bristol             Exchange
23rd Nov         London           Brixton Electric
24th Nov         Leeds              Belgrave Music Hall
25th Nov         Manchester    Deaf Institute
26th Nov         Glasgow          King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut

Dates will be available via fan pre-sale on Weds 15th to all who sign up to the mailing list: & general sale on Thursday 16th June |  | @thepalaceband
Danny Peart
Editor / Live Music Photographer / Journalist at Soundcheck-Live

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here