Reverend & The Makers release their eagerly anticipated fifth album, Mirrors, through Cooking Vinyl, on Friday 9th October. The first song to be taken from the album, Black Widow, is available from midnight tonight upon pre-ordering Mirrors

Mirrors was recorded at 2 Fly Studios Sheffield and Geejam Studios in Jamaica and was produced by Dave Sanderson with additional production by Youth and Alan Smyth and mixed by Youth. It will be available on CD, Limited edition CD & DVD, 12” Vinyl and digital download. The album can be pre-ordered from the bands website:  and iTunes:

The special CD & DVD version of Mirrors is available with a film by acclaimed director Roger Sargent, filmed in Jamaica to accompany each song on the album. All formats of the album also include an exclusive  twenty-three minute dub version of Mirrors (Overproof Dub by Youth) and bonus radio versions of three of the album tracks.

Reverend & The Makers have also announced a twelve-date UK tour for November and December. Tickets go on sale at 9am on Friday 7th August. The full dates are:

FRI 13th Manchester, Ritz
SAT 14th Sheffield, Academy
MON 16th Wolverhampton, Wulfurn
TUE 17th Portsmouth, Wedgwood Rooms
WED 18th London, Koko
FRI 20th Leeds, Stylus
SAT 21st Liverpool, Academy 1
SUN 22nd Glasgow, King Tuts
WED 25th Newcastle, Riverside
THU 26th Bristol, Bierkeller
FRI 27th Lowestoft, Aquarium

THU 3rd Nottingham, Rock City

To coincide with the release of Mirrors singer Jon McClure releases a book of his lyrics and poetry, illustrated by Horace Panter from The Specials, The Lyrics and Poetry of Jon McClure with Illustrations by Horace Panter.

The book features every lyric from Reverend & The Makers as well as poems including Jon McClure’s collaboration with John Cooper Clark. An exclusive sample of the book is available from the bands webstore when you preorder Mirrors

Jon McClure adds “Ed (guitarist and fellow songwriter) and I became resolute to make a record that we loved. Why not indulge the overwhelming urge to not play games anymore and set about making some art we are actually proud of rather than the release tour festivals repeat cycle we’d been on since forever. And so we took the files we’d been diligently recording off to Jamaica and spruced them up a bit whilst making a film. The result is the best thing we’ve ever done in my opinion. The reaction when I play it to people is like nothing I’ve seen before, except maybe the first album.”

The Full track listing for Mirrors is:

Black Widow
Makin Babies
Stuck On You
The Beach And The Sea
The Trip
El Cabrera
Something To Remember
Mr Glassalfempty
The Gun 
My Mirror
Last To Know
Lay Me Down

Extra tracks on all formats:

Mr Glassalfempty (Radio Edit)
The Trip (Radio Edit)
Makin Babies (Radio Edit) 
Mirrors (Overproof Dub by Youth) 23:15

Danny Peart
Editor / Live Music Photographer / Journalist at Soundcheck-Live

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here