The Amazons announce UK tour dates ahead of new self titled album

the amazons

THE AMAZONS look set to confirm their status as Britain’s biggest breaking rock band with the release of their eagerly anticipated self-titled debut album, out June 2nd on Fiction Records. To coincide with the announcement, the band have also shared a new video for their current single ‘Black Magic’.

It’s been a heady rise for the Reading-based quartet. The most hotly tipped guitar band of 2017 according to Music Week, The Amazons were shortlisted for the BBC Music Sound of 2017 poll, nominated for Q’s Best Breakthrough Act gong and made an appearance in MTV’s Brand New 2017 list. They also featured in Apple Music’s New Artists 2017 playlist and popped up in Amazon UK’s Ones To Watch and Deezer’s picks for 2017 polls.

Meanwhile the broadsheets and music press have been all over them, with NME, Kerrang!, Metro, Daily Star, Daily Mirror, Gigwise and Radio X all tipping them for greatness. Beat 1’s Zane Lowe is a huge fan, and so are Radio 1’s Huw Stephens, Annie Mac, Clara Amfo, Nick Grimshaw, Mistajam and Greg James. Frankly, it’s not hard to see why.

Produced by the Grammy nominated Catherine Marks (Wolf Alice, Foals, PJ Harvey) and recorded at the world famous Assault and Battery Studios in west London, the album is the result of THE AMAZONS’ mission statement to reinvigorate rock ‘n’ roll. Passionate, ballsy, tender and loud as hell, this is an album not just for the young, but the young at heart too.

It’s a collection that collates some of the highlights soundtracking their rise to date – including the punk ‘n’ roll rush of opener ‘Stay With Me’, the pulverising riffs and anthemic rallying call of ‘Junk Food Forever’, and the foreboding grunge of ‘Little Something’. With the brand new material just as essential, ‘Burn My Eyes’ recalling both Husker Du and Biffy Clyro with its cocktail of visceral aggression and melodic intent, while ‘Raindrops’ simultaneously showcases frontman Matt Thomson’s knack for introspective lyricism and emotive vocal delivery. The album comes to a surprise conclusion with the lighters-aloft piano ballad ‘Palace’ which demonstrates another angle to the band away from their fiery wall of sound.

“I wrote all the songs between the ages of 18 and 22 years old,” explains Thomson of the record’s self-analytical bent. At the age of 20, he went through a serious break-up, which means a lot of tracks see him working through his heartache, but with the backing of big guitars, meaty riffs and a certain kind of poetry. “It’s all quite direct, but it’s emotive too,” he adds.

To coincide with the announcement, THE AMAZONS have also shared a brand new video for their current Radio 1 playlisted single ‘Black Magic’ which also features in the album. It’s a video rich with stylised imagery which includes intimate, extreme close-up shots, intense performances from the band, and surreal symbolism which offers significant scope for interpretation.

The album is now available to pre-order from or directly from iTunes, Amazon and Google Play. A pre-save for Spotify is also available at

Completed by guitarist Chris Alderton, coy bassist Elliot Briggs and powerhouse drummer Joe Emmett, THE AMAZONS have been honing their music for a decade, but it wasn’t until Valentine’s Day 2014 that they finally hit upon their true sound, thanks to a consciousness-shifting Foals show at London’s Alexandra Palace. The four piece began listening to the deeply primal artists that originally made them want to start making music; Rage Against The Machine, Nirvana and Led Zeppelin.

THE AMAZONS are currently embarking upon their biggest UK headline tour which is entirely sold-out in advance; expect full-throttle attitude, sweat, style, sass and a little bit of magic. Further festival dates are set to be announced in the near future.

Album tracklisting:

1. ‘Stay With Me’
2. ‘Burn My Eyes’
3. ‘In My Mind’
4. ‘Junk Food Forever’
5. ‘Raindrops’
6. ‘Black Magic’
7. ‘Ultraviolet’
8. ‘Little Something’
9. ‘Holy Roller’
10. ‘Something in the Water’
11. ‘Palace’

Forthcoming live dates:


10th – Nottingham, Bodega Social Club
11th – Leicester, The Cookie
12th – Leamington Spa, Zephyr Lounge
14th – Cambridge, Portland Arms
15th – Oxford, The Bullingdon
16th – Guildford, The Boileroom
17th – Brighton, Patterns
20th – Germany, Cologne, Live Music Hall (with You Me At Six)
21st – Germany, Berlin, Columbia Theater (with You Me At Six)
23rd – Sweden, Stockholm, Fryshuset (with You Me At Six)
24th – Norway, Oslo, Vulkan Arena (with You Me At Six)
26th – Germany, Hamburg, Markthalle (with You Me At Six)
27th – Belgium, Brussels, Ancienne Belgique (with You Me At Six)
29th – Netherlands, Amsterdam, Paradiso (with You Me At Six)
30th – Luxembourg, den Atelier (with You Me At Six)


5th – Sheffield, The Plug
6th – Manchester, Deaf Institute
7th – Glasgow, King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut
8th – Newcastle, The Cluny
11th – Birmingham, Mama Roux’s
12th – London, Dingwalls
13th – Reading, Sub89
15th – Netherlands, Paaspop Festival
29th – Live At Leeds


18th – The Great Escape
28th – Liverpool Sound City


11th – Isle of Wight Festival
17th – Netherlands, Best Kept Secret Festival

Tickets are available here:

Danny Peart
Editor / Live Music Photographer / Journalist at Soundcheck-Live

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here